Page 5 of 17 FirstFirst 12345678915 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 150 of 495

Thread: XJ6 - aka purple shitbox, purple people eater, now with more LS1

  1. #121
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    6,899
    actually just a rwd one. this is it i presume? apart from top hole ground off, seems fine.

    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/V8-AUTOMA...item336c9ed475
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  2. #122
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    2
    Happy birthday scrote bag

  3. #123
    two jaaaaaaaags drscrote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    656
    OK, new box is here, stock 4l60, model 5HMD - dude selling thought was for an Adventra. (which I think are all 4WD)
    Another forum had a model decoder that says that should be for a VZ coupe.



    Anyway - needs to go in.

    Can't decide whether to do it dogsballs style from below, or pull the engine.
    There's about 15cm room from the bellhousing bolts to the bulkhead, but a bit less from the bellhousing taper itself. So the bolts shouldn't be a problem, but not sue how much wiggle room there would be to get it all seperated and down on an angle.

    I don't want to risk not aligning it up right and fucking the trans fluid pump. Plus I've changed tiny gearboxes from below before and it's a shit job.
    There's a couple of bits and bobs I'd like to do in the engine bay - bend a hard fuel line away from the exhaust etc, fit some more heatshield.

    So currently favouring getting the engine and box out at this stage.

    Any thoughts?

  4. #124
    Registered User 9triton's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    4,349
    would have thought the deal clincher would be :


    I don't want to risk not aligning it up right and fucking the trans fluid pump
    and we all read dogsballs tale of pain

  5. #125
    MacGuyver stockymcstock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    3,626
    yeah I reckon we pull it all. we can put a cam in the thing while we're in there right?

    I am a Spinal and Sports Physio based in Flemington, Melbourne. Insane discounts for PF members!

    www.showgroundsphysio.com.au

    I also retail do high-level professional road bike fitting and retail Speedplay pedals and SMP seats - cheapest you'll find them anywhere.

    www.neillsbikefit.com.au


  6. #126
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    6,899
    ha! with a few hands should be ok. just make sure stocky is sober!
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  7. #127
    two jaaaaaaaags drscrote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    656
    Working this weekend, but I can start on the dismantling this week.

    Maybe do the swap weekend after? - 29th/30th

    Then skids bitches etc

  8. #128
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    6,899
    i'm free all week (well working from home).
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  9. #129
    Check it cunts! 80DGY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Awesomeville
    Posts
    34,027
    Quote Originally Posted by stockymcstock View Post
    yeah I reckon we pull it all. we can put a cam in the thing while we're in there right?
    +1

    would be fucken madness not to...
    Quote Originally Posted by choppo View Post
    Looking forward videos of OP doing the chicken dance in drag with bananas up the arse and other fruit around the face in gay hypnotherapist rape dungeon

  10. #130
    two jaaaaaaaags drscrote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    656
    Coincidentally I'm working from home tomorrow also.

    Come over whenever.

  11. #131
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    6,899
    i see if i can get some transport.
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  12. #132
    two jaaaaaaaags drscrote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    656
    I've just pulled out the rad, and disconnected the pipes to the auto cooler in the side of the rad.

    Quick test idle - no trans fluid circulating in the cooler circuit. Not a drip. Got enough fluid in the pan.

    I don't think that's on a thermostat, so must be either a blockage or pump not working. Would make sens if pump and forward are on same drive, but seems odd that reverse works fine if so.

    Also finally got rid of stocky's siren (Bosch 044 brand). Now have a Pierberg fuel pump, in standard position under boot floor. Seems pretty quiet, now I can sneak up to people (in reverse) without them noticing.

  13. #133
    MacGuyver stockymcstock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    3,626
    rooted pump perhaps. odd for it to just randomly fail though. could the box have contaminants in it? drop the fluid through a strainer and check

    I am a Spinal and Sports Physio based in Flemington, Melbourne. Insane discounts for PF members!

    www.showgroundsphysio.com.au

    I also retail do high-level professional road bike fitting and retail Speedplay pedals and SMP seats - cheapest you'll find them anywhere.

    www.neillsbikefit.com.au


  14. #134
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    6,899
    this may be a really really stupid Q. but have you checked the fluid level for the trans!?
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  15. #135
    two jaaaaaaaags drscrote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    656
    No such thing as stupid questions.

    Except in this case.

    Quick test idle - no trans fluid circulating in the cooler circuit. Not a drip. Got enough fluid in the pan.

  16. #136
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    6,899
    mmm, pump has to be working if the car moves. blocked line or outlet/inlet. which could indicate why trans died, it may have cooked itself with no cooling.
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  17. #137
    Brobdingnagian Member Mighty Mouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    croc country
    Posts
    2,336
    Quote Originally Posted by dogsballs View Post
    mmm, pump has to be working if the car moves. blocked line or outlet/inlet. which could indicate why trans died, it may have cooked itself with no cooling.
    I always thought that the torque converter pumped the fluid through the cooler in these type of autos?

  18. #138
    two jaaaaaaaags drscrote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    656
    Could be a blockage.
    I don't think I'll disconnect the cooler lines from the box till it's out, then can blow them through and check.
    I need to fab up some better brackets for the hard lines this time when its out too.
    Last edited by drscrote; 18-10-11 at 01:29 PM.

  19. #139
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    6,899
    main part is out through the front into th convertor, but also out the side to cooler.
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  20. #140
    Registered User [TUFFVQ]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melb
    Posts
    782
    So long as you line up the convertor outside the car to ensure its properly seated, doing an auto from under the car isn't the hardest job. Have done two before.

    If you have a reasonably flat surface and a nicely sized trolley jack, you'll be right. I've even done the auto in my Statesman by myself (and as dogsballs has seen, I ain't the biggest bloke).

  21. #141
    two jaaaaaaaags drscrote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    656
    Thanks Tuffvq, having got under it now I'm not sure there's enough room behind the box to get the box back enough to drop it down.

    Anyway, I've done most of the work now to get the engine out, and I'm looking forward to tidying up the bay.

    Today - oil, water, PS fluids out. Rad out. Loom off. Exhaust + manifolds off. Rack dropped.

    Sump off so I can go get it TIG'd up again.

    Won't be able to do any more till next week due to work etc.

  22. #142
    two jaaaaaaaags drscrote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    656
    Also have pulled off the waterpump so I can sort out the stupid thermostat absence.

    The sump's off - I'll get a hole tapped in this port by the oil filter for a T piece to run the oil pressure gauge and warning light. Then the ECU oil pressure sensor can go back in it's usual place at the rear top of the block.



    Looking at the exhaust - it won't be engineerable with the current configuration under the diff. In this pic the ground isn't level, but even when it is the clearance is only 8cm with the exhaust hard up to the diff cage. Think I'll have to get it revised to pass engineering, through the diff cradle, which means max 2" I think or might even be 1.7/8"


  23. #143
    MacGuyver stockymcstock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    3,626
    i have a full tap set and drill bits for that housing tommo. find out what thread you need and we'll get it done

    what you should do with the exhaust is get ovalled pipe and maybe notch the top bit so it sits up higher under the control arms/diff. fuck going smaller area!

    I am a Spinal and Sports Physio based in Flemington, Melbourne. Insane discounts for PF members!

    www.showgroundsphysio.com.au

    I also retail do high-level professional road bike fitting and retail Speedplay pedals and SMP seats - cheapest you'll find them anywhere.

    www.neillsbikefit.com.au


  24. #144
    Shaved cunt Andrew Bolt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    3,829
    Slap bang in the middle of a block of 6 12.5 hour nights. Would like to come over and help but can't.
    Proudly presenting the new foot long chocolate Subway.
    Quote Originally Posted by ALLMTR View Post
    Rats tail haircut used to mean make sure the OC spray is shaken

  25. #145
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    6,899
    cut and flange exhaust for gingerbeer, fit 2", then replace afterwards. or oval tubing good idea.

    still don't know why you just don't use the t-piece off the oil pressure switch.
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  26. #146
    two jaaaaaaaags drscrote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    656
    Already using a T-piece off the original sensor hole, to the dash analog gauge + warning light senders.

    I want to put the original sender back in the original hole, aswell as my 2 new ones.

    I think tack up a quick dirty small zorst thru cage may be the go for legals.

  27. #147
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    6,899
    fuck how many oil sensors you need?!
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  28. #148
    two jaaaaaaaags drscrote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    656
    Jag needs 2 for the dash. ECU needs one in order to not throw a fault code.

  29. #149
    two jaaaaaaaags drscrote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    656
    Also fraud experts -

    Is this bad?



    Looks like original engine number is stamped out, new one in place. This is the front right of the block.

    It's a year 99 number, and the other marks on the block are 99.

    Not recorded as stolen in Victoria (I rang Vicroads). It's from Adelaide though, is there an equivalent checking service there?

    No point thinking about cams etc if it's nicked.

  30. #150
    Resident Oaf Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    ACT Now!
    Posts
    26,564
    there was a run on VT piston slappers that got swapped through holden warranty for new motors. If it's like the Honda Legend sludge motors that went through dealers the old motors were rebuilt and refitted as warranty exchange units. Probably X'd out the numbers to fit the numbers of the removed motor.
    Turns out, far too much has been written about great men and not nearly enough about morons


    Quote Originally Posted by seedyrom
    my neighbours called the cops...... not because of the sound of me working in the garage was too loud, but because i taped a cardboard box to my back, covered my self in vaseline and pretended i was a snail on their lawn

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •