Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Megasquirt?

  1. #1
    bdsgarage
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    pine mountain
    Posts
    75

    Megasquirt?

    Has anyone used and abused a megasquirt before.Never used one before
    only ever used haltech.They are dirt cheep is this becasue they are shit
    or extremly technical to use... any info would be greatly appreciated

  2. #2
    Desert Nigga vet 180's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dubai
    Posts
    2,842
    Quote Originally Posted by ominus View Post
    Has anyone used and abused a megasquirt before.Never used one before
    only ever used haltech.They are dirt cheep is this becasue they are shit
    or extremly technical to use... any info would be greatly appreciated
    They are cheap because they are designed for dyi's. The are great value for money, plenty of software support. Great if you want to do everything yourself and like to experiment, ie tune with the wideband on the rd.

    If you want to install and take to a dyno and have someone tune it stay with the haltech. The haltech is the better ecu, but the megaaquirt is great bang for buck
    Quote Originally Posted by Babalouie View Post
    Geez we're a bunch of softcocks...we have a 911 and we're obsessing over non-functional ducts and indicator colours

  3. #3
    Even oysters have enemies HAMMER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    6,114
    Plenty of people in the USA sell them fully assembled now. There is a guy in the states running a Studebaker with megasquirt an did 249mph at speed week and makes around the 900hp so they are a decent piece of kit.
    Last edited by DCR; 13-08-11 at 09:18 PM.

  4. #4
    arboreal bukkake briney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Blackwater, QLD
    Posts
    1,514
    hi guys. i'm in the process of building a v2.2. i've got a laptop running windows 10, and the comms testing phase using hyperterminal has me stumped. i downloaded it, but it doesn't seem to be like the instructions say. can anyone help?
    Quote Originally Posted by Skompa View Post
    The throttle linkages jammed on the CDs in my old Triumph 2000 and stuck it at WOT.

    I didn't realise for about 15 mins as it never broke the speed limit.

  5. #5
    That's Sir Cunt to you... krisr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Shitney
    Posts
    979
    Did you get a DIY kit and solder it together yourself or buy it second hand? Have you got a stim to test the inputs and outputs?

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
    Quote Originally Posted by Motherfucker Jones View Post
    If you can't appreciate that then you are more narrow minded than the most mulleted, flanno, thong wearing, thong slapping, 253 owning, southern cross tatted, fuck off
    we're full stickered, VB drinking bogan you'll ever meet

  6. #6
    Registered User dnegative's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,675
    Quote Originally Posted by ominus View Post
    Has anyone used and abused a megasquirt before.Never used one before
    only ever used haltech.They are dirt cheep is this becasue they are shit
    or extremly technical to use... any info would be greatly appreciated
    Had one on a mildly built 4AGE running ITB's for, 4-5 years now?
    Been 100% reliable, never had any issues - They cop a lot of shit from the Haltech cock pulling brigade and the like but I've got one of those too and it wouldn't make the engine run any better.
    Quote Originally Posted by cracka View Post
    Fuck I'm retarded

  7. #7
    That's Sir Cunt to you... krisr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Shitney
    Posts
    979
    LOL yep. I've had an MS2 since they first came out with the v3.0 board. I upgraded it to a ms3x. Been running my HQ for many years now. Not 1 issue with it and I've even got the IO Extender over CAN to log shit like my TH400 line pressure, fuel level, oil temps etc..

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
    Quote Originally Posted by Motherfucker Jones View Post
    If you can't appreciate that then you are more narrow minded than the most mulleted, flanno, thong wearing, thong slapping, 253 owning, southern cross tatted, fuck off
    we're full stickered, VB drinking bogan you'll ever meet

  8. #8
    arboreal bukkake briney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Blackwater, QLD
    Posts
    1,514
    Quote Originally Posted by krisr View Post
    Did you get a DIY kit and solder it together yourself or buy it second hand? Have you got a stim to test the inputs and outputs?

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
    i'm putting it together. no stimulator.
    Quote Originally Posted by Skompa View Post
    The throttle linkages jammed on the CDs in my old Triumph 2000 and stuck it at WOT.

    I didn't realise for about 15 mins as it never broke the speed limit.

  9. #9
    Registered User Cantilever Bridge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    melb
    Posts
    1,867
    Quote Originally Posted by briney View Post
    hi guys. i'm in the process of building a v2.2. i've got a laptop running windows 10, and the comms testing phase using hyperterminal has me stumped. i downloaded it, but it doesn't seem to be like the instructions say. can anyone help?
    do a loopback test first to test the RS232 port then go from there, you need to bridge 2 pins using a spare RS232 connector.

    I used putty not hyperterminal

    http://knowledge.digi.com/articles/K...st-using-PuTTY

  10. #10
    Purist, whats that? Jason Broadhurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    North Brisbane
    Posts
    6,215
    I did a loopback tutorial (kinda) in the ECU thread
    Jason Broadhurst

    Someone once asked me if they could use my mower. I said "sure, so long as it doesn't leave my yard"

  11. #11
    arboreal bukkake briney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Blackwater, QLD
    Posts
    1,514
    it does the loopback thing fine, just doesn't do it when plugged in and the processor removed and the requisite pins bridged in its socket. i bought a new max 232 and a socket. i'll see if that helps.
    Quote Originally Posted by Skompa View Post
    The throttle linkages jammed on the CDs in my old Triumph 2000 and stuck it at WOT.

    I didn't realise for about 15 mins as it never broke the speed limit.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Melbourne VIC
    Posts
    48
    Id like to have a go building a megasquirt.
    Are you guys buying kits from the US, building yourself and then road tuning?

  13. #13
    Get your azz to mars bugle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney rAmR0d'
    Posts
    3,994
    Yeah, I get everything from DIYAutoTune. I've only built them myself.

    Get a wideband and TunerStudio MS and go for it. So far road tuning fuel has been pretty easy. Going to go away from the stock ignition soon so will see how hard that is to tune.
    Last edited by bugle; 15-10-17 at 12:00 PM.
    as short as possible

  14. #14
    Opens
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    8,948
    Quote Originally Posted by vet 180 View Post
    They are cheap because they are designed for dyi's. The are great value for money, plenty of software support. Great if you want to do everything yourself and like to experiment, ie tune with the wideband on the rd.

    If you want to install and take to a dyno and have someone tune it stay with the haltech. The haltech is the better ecu, but the megaaquirt is great bang for buck
    That is an excellent summary. They do work, it just takes more time to make them work.

    Th

  15. #15
    Registered User lightyear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Bentleigh Victoria
    Posts
    3,123
    I have an MS3. Came with the car. Was N/A, put turbo on and road tuned it ourselves. Easy as.
    NA8B 89KW- P.I. 1:50.1, WNTN1:38.0, SDWN 1:27.6, WKFLD 1:10.4
    NB8B 181KW- P.I 1:43.8, WNTN 1:32.9, SDWN 1:22.0, BDFD 1:05.3
    VP 293KW- P.I 1:46.0 WNTN 1:33.5

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    202
    Quote Originally Posted by tim510 View Post
    That is an excellent summary. They do work, it just takes more time to make them work.

    Th
    How does it take more time to make them work?

  17. #17
    Opens
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    8,948
    I had a hell of a time making a basic 36-1 to trigger. There was some weird setting in place by default that prevents it from working. I was very close to ripping it out.

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    483
    MS3pro are not exactly cheap these days, are they better than the link and haltech stuff?
    E30 325is M20 3.1L

  19. #19
    Purist, whats that? Jason Broadhurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    North Brisbane
    Posts
    6,215
    Quote Originally Posted by tim510 View Post
    I had a hell of a time making a basic 36-1 to trigger. There was some weird setting in place by default that prevents it from working. I was very close to ripping it out.
    Yeah but that is a good example of many other problems making the ECU look bad. We would have probably got it going in an hour had it not been for compression, valve seats or cam timing.

    What I don't understand about MS is their persistence to use non industry terms for things as a point of differentiation or to stay true to the correct technical/physics term. It doesn't do the ECU any favours, as most people write them off as broken or too hard as above^
    Jason Broadhurst

    Someone once asked me if they could use my mower. I said "sure, so long as it doesn't leave my yard"

  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    202
    Quote Originally Posted by Jason Broadhurst View Post

    What I don't understand about MS is their persistence to use non industry terms for things as a point of differentiation or to stay true to the correct technical/physics term. It doesn't do the ECU any favours, as most people write them off as broken or too hard as above^
    Possibly fair.

    Assuming tuner familiarity with them (ie done more than a few) how do you rate their MS3/pnp pro compared to other more well regarded ecu Jason?

    I ask as many won't touch them but the ones who do seem to rate them reasonable. Hard to get a straight answer from tuners who sell ecus/seem to support a particular brand, and too easy for them write off as crap.

  21. #21
    Purist, whats that? Jason Broadhurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    North Brisbane
    Posts
    6,215
    They have had more features and earlier implementation of pretty much everything that trickles through to the bigger brands.

    I like them, but that might say enough about them in itself
    Jason Broadhurst

    Someone once asked me if they could use my mower. I said "sure, so long as it doesn't leave my yard"

  22. #22
    arboreal bukkake briney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Blackwater, QLD
    Posts
    1,514
    so this is a thing again. got the old max232 out, and socketed the board and then fitted a new one. success! it now echoes with 12 and 13 bridged on the 40 pin connector. the next step is to connect to it with the processor in place. it wants me to use a configurator tool, and mega tune to get it set up. from what i can gather they're both obsolete and tuner studio is the go. what do i have to do to connect to tunerstudio the first time?

    after flipping through the assembly instructions, i found i'd missed 2 resistors randomly in the clock circuit. 21 and 22. once i fitted them, it hooked straight up to tunerstudio. yay!
    Last edited by briney; 29-10-17 at 08:09 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Skompa View Post
    The throttle linkages jammed on the CDs in my old Triumph 2000 and stuck it at WOT.

    I didn't realise for about 15 mins as it never broke the speed limit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •