Page 11 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011
Results 301 to 325 of 325

Thread: Haltech elite..

  1. #301
    Interested bystander
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    840
    Quote Originally Posted by burn is weird View Post
    a shielded Differential VR signal is going to be noise immune. no problems there...
    Are those ECU's differential input on the crank / cam?

  2. #302
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,169
    Quote Originally Posted by elfturbomax View Post
    Are those ECU's differential input on the crank / cam?
    Ian, they have 2 totally separate reluctor interfaces
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  3. #303
    Registered User neil_se's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Toowoomba
    Posts
    1,272
    Neat firmware updates. I take it the throttle blip would need brake and clutch switches?


  4. #304
    Purist, whats that? Jason Broadhurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    North Brisbane
    Posts
    6,554
    Quote Originally Posted by 10sec rx7 View Post
    Ian, they have 2 totally separate reluctor interfaces
    He means at the PCB hardware level using instrument amplifiers as a differential reading of the rel+ and the rel-. This allows interference which affects the twisted pair cabling to be hardware level reduced.

    The other less EMI immune method is to just use a microprocessor analogue pin for measurement directly.

    Here is some design I did last year on a dual differential setup for reference.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_20190125-134033.png 
Views:	31 
Size:	743.0 KB 
ID:	110077  
    Jason Broadhurst

    Someone once asked me if they could use my mower. I said "sure, so long as it doesn't leave my yard"

  5. #305
    \_(ツ)_/ burn is weird's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    gold coast
    Posts
    1,849
    i haven't used an elite for a while but "cutting the initial online time by around 30 seconds???"

    WTF how long did it take before this update?

    Oo___oO


  6. #306
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    windsor nsw
    Posts
    1,238
    It was a cunt. Fuck it used to give me the shits. I dunno how many tines I wanted to punch the laptop
    And then itd lose connection for some reason mid power run and youd have to do it all again
    I thought it was my laptop lol
    Last edited by bpm; 25-01-19 at 04:40 PM.

  7. #307
    Purist, whats that? Jason Broadhurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    North Brisbane
    Posts
    6,554
    Configuring HDEF files for future access............................................ .................................................. .................................................. ................

    Cunt i just want to increase the idle 50 rpm, not compile a 256 bit encryption module for nuclear launch codes.
    Last edited by Jason Broadhurst; 25-01-19 at 09:44 PM.
    Jason Broadhurst

    Someone once asked me if they could use my mower. I said "sure, so long as it doesn't leave my yard"

  8. #308
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,169
    The issue is not the usb connection speed etc, thats fast, its the front end software. Its being worked on and will be updates ASAP
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  9. #309
    Registered User MWP's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,793
    And here I am changing the tune on my shitty (but not so shitty) MegaSquirt 10m away from the car via wifi.
    That would shit me to tears.

  10. #310
    \_(ツ)_/ burn is weird's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    gold coast
    Posts
    1,849
    wait are elites still using FTDI USB-serial Virctual Com Port chips?

    Oo___oO


  11. #311
    Problem? sssgtr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    on a boat motherfucker
    Posts
    4,287
    Quote Originally Posted by burn is weird View Post
    "cutting the initial online time by around 30 seconds???"
    Lol
    #ethernetlyfe

  12. #312
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    527
    so how long does it actually take to upload a new map and to establish connection?
    Last edited by E30is; 30-01-19 at 05:37 PM.
    E30 325is M20 3.1L

  13. #313
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,169
    depending on what ecu..550/750/950 about 30sec, fully loaded 2500 around a min
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  14. #314
    Registered User dougmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    1,478
    dalecunt, can i run a microtech ltc dash into my elite 550 via can?

    i have a haltech canbus already

    id love to go racepack but the ecu and adaptor board are already worth more than my starlet

  15. #315
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,169
    yes you can, just be aware the slow refresh rate is the dash not the ecu..
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  16. #316
    Registered User dougmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    1,478
    cheers dale

  17. #317
    Registered User [RX3]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,144
    So wiring the SSR for the trans brake / bump box function.

    Are the 20 AWG grey / red wires in the Elite loom okay to use as the switched battery voltage ?



    Can I assume that these suckers can be used to join the SPI to transbrake button, and again with the SSR?



    Like that?

    Thanks!
    Last edited by [RX3]; 09-02-19 at 10:20 PM.

  18. #318
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,169
    that wire powers the trans brake some can pull 10 amps, so use a 16ga if possible
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  19. #319
    Registered User [RX3]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,144
    Ok. Easy enough.

    Do these SSRs get very hot ? I assume this one wouldn't as it's only really being used when the trans brake is on. I wouldn't mind putting it in the centre console but if it's going ti get too hot then i will find somewhat else.

  20. #320
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,169
    nah not when used on a trans brake.. if used on a fuel pump they can get hot and jaycar have heat sinks for them
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  21. #321
    Registered User [RX3]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,144
    Look right?



    Think I need to add switched 12V to DPO1 wire on terminal 4

    Terminal 1 = Positive from trans brake solenoid - other wire is earthed.
    Terminal 2 = Trans brake button and SPI joined
    Terminal 3 = As above, but 1k ohm resistor to be grounded to chassis
    Terminal 4 = DPO 1 (need to add switched 12V?)

    I assume the switched 12v is the grey / red wires from the harness that goes to other stuff like a boost solenoid and vvti solenoid...

    Nearly time to start a fire... haha

  22. #322
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,169
    yep that looks right
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  23. #323
    Registered User [RX3]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,144
    Thanks Dale, think I will owe you some beers haha

    Does DPO1 need to be spliced in to a switched 12v seeing that it's output from the ECU is set to 12v?

    It makes sense if I am not using DPO1 - but two switch 12v inputs on one terminal...

  24. #324
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,169
    fuck no do not join a DPO to 12v ever..
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  25. #325
    Registered User [RX3]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,144
    Thought so.

    Thanks once again

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •