Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 120 of 296

Thread: Haltech elite..

  1. #91
    Registered User Paul M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    446
    So does the Mazda Sport 1000 box just have a Sprint RE in it, or something else?

  2. #92
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,000
    nah sport 1000.. that was last week, that ecu left in its car on friday, as is 1 of the elites and one of the 2000's

    the one with the texta on it has 15 boost valves in it lol
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  3. #93
    Registered User glenn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ballarat, Victoria
    Posts
    361
    Any Smartwires in stock Dale lol

  4. #94
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,000
    no but can have one in 30min lol
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  5. #95
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,000
    here you go replicating the speedo output on a factory ecu for a commodore dash board

    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  6. #96
    Wankeling Rotard
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    142
    Quote Originally Posted by glenn View Post
    Any Smartwires in stock Dale lol
    So this is why you're not coming to Adelaide!
    '93 èfini FD RX7 | '04 FE RX8 blog.vtxms.com
    Beauty is in the eye of the beer-holder.

  7. #97
    Wankeling Rotard
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    142
    Bloke who tends to "know everything" reckons his tuner was told on Elite training that rotary support, FD specifically, is coming in December. Question posted on Haltech forum has been ignored (though only a day or so, I'm an inpatient cunt) - heard anything Dale?
    '93 èfini FD RX7 | '04 FE RX8 blog.vtxms.com
    Beauty is in the eye of the beer-holder.

  8. #98
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,000
    considering the FD and FC trigger types are the same they all would be supported then, but i highly doubt it will be in december...
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  9. #99
    Registered User glenn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ballarat, Victoria
    Posts
    361
    Quote Originally Posted by vortex View Post
    So this is why you're not coming to Adelaide!
    Perhaps I'm after a smart wire so I can come to Adelaide lol

  10. #100
    Registered User [RX3]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,090
    Quote Originally Posted by 10sec rx7 View Post
    Had a play last night and basic gearbox control for Toyota a340 and a341 should not be a problem either
    I am interested to see how this works.

  11. #101
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,000
    should only be a week or 2 till we have that sorted
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  12. #102
    GTFO of my ED doctor ed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    irgendwo
    Posts
    4,419
    dale...

    am looking at various throttle setups at present, and one 'easier' option would be twin audi fly-by-wire throttle bodies

    a) is this plausible, and can electric throtles be synchronous enough to work (and would you split one output to drive both tb's, or need 2 individual outputs?)
    b) im assuming theyre also used for idle speed control, and you dont need a further idle speed controller valve?
    c) wh kind of sensor do you need on the throttle pedal, assuming ill be using a basic wilwood pedal box

    cheers
    ed
    Last edited by doctor ed; 06-11-14 at 07:29 PM.
    Mit freundlichen Grüße

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith Duckworth View Post
    "I think that in a racing engine, the closer it is to disintegrating, in general the better its performance will be "

  13. #103
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,000
    this is what i have done in the past and use at your own risk.. use 1 output to drive both motors, have done on 4 BA xr8 falcons and all have had zero problems,
    you require a proper DBW pedal as it requires 2 sensors on the throttle pedal and the throttle body,
    what i have discussed with Al is to use 1 tps off each throttle body, havent tested it yet tho,.

    if you use a wilwood pedal box might be easier to stat cable???
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  14. #104
    GTFO of my ED doctor ed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    irgendwo
    Posts
    4,419
    throttle bodies are pointing in really awkward directions realtive to each other due to space, so drive by wire to control the pair would ideal
    the plenum between banks has a common central region so if one throttle fucks up, im guessing the two banks will even them selves out to an extent (am gettng a guy to CFD this scenario on the plenum to see what unequal flow looks like)

    getting a DBW pedal isnt out of the question. just grab a generic bosch one? looks like theres 6 wires coming out of them

    Mit freundlichen Grüße

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith Duckworth View Post
    "I think that in a racing engine, the closer it is to disintegrating, in general the better its performance will be "

  15. #105
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    465
    for safety reasons, all Dbw motors should have independent controls, so just hook one DBW motor up using 2 outputs and 2 inputs, the other using another set of outputs and inputs. They should both be able to be controlled by the one pedal of course...

    This is commonly done, and shouldn't be too difficult.

    Doing both off one output pair would be very bad..

  16. #106
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,000
    Quote Originally Posted by cossie55 View Post

    Doing both off one output pair would be very bad..
    Yeh but it works and works fine. Many a xr8 falcon running around like it with zero problem.. I did say do at your own risk tho
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  17. #107
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,000
    Quote Originally Posted by doctor ed View Post
    throttle bodies are pointing in really awkward directions realtive to each other due to space, so drive by wire to control the pair would ideal
    the plenum between banks has a common central region so if one throttle fucks up, im guessing the two banks will even them selves out to an extent (am gettng a guy to CFD this scenario on the plenum to see what unequal flow looks like)

    getting a DBW pedal isnt out of the question. just grab a generic bosch one? looks like theres 6 wires coming out of them

    Got a pic??
    Yes that pedal will work fine
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  18. #108
    Interested bystander
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    817
    Quote Originally Posted by 10sec rx7 View Post
    this is what i have done in the past and use at your own risk.. use 1 output to drive both motors, have done on 4 BA xr8 falcons and all have had zero problems,
    you require a proper DBW pedal as it requires 2 sensors on the throttle pedal and the throttle body,
    what i have discussed with Al is to use 1 tps off each throttle body, havent tested it yet tho,.

    if you use a wilwood pedal box might be easier to stat cable???
    Quote Originally Posted by cossie55 View Post
    for safety reasons, all Dbw motors should have independent controls, so just hook one DBW motor up using 2 outputs and 2 inputs, the other using another set of outputs and inputs. They should both be able to be controlled by the one pedal of course...

    This is commonly done, and shouldn't be too difficult.

    Doing both off one output pair would be very bad..
    I have to agree with Jamie on this. Two DBW motors on the same bridge is just wrong for a whole number of reasons. Just because it hasn't failed doesn't mean it won't.

  19. #109
    GTFO of my ED doctor ed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    irgendwo
    Posts
    4,419
    why would it fail, and what makes that any worse than a DBW failling on a single throttle?
    Mit freundlichen Grüße

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith Duckworth View Post
    "I think that in a racing engine, the closer it is to disintegrating, in general the better its performance will be "

  20. #110
    Interested bystander
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    817
    Inductive flyback energy vs circuit protection components on those ECU outputs. I have heard of injector driver failures when two injectors were connected per driver and overloading the protection until it failed which then popped the drivers. PWM driven motors have way more flyback energy and depending on the protection componentry used the flyback pulses in effect nibble away at the protection devices.

    But driving two motors from one output bridge means one cannot be driven in closed loop because there is only one output. If one gets out of phase, say due to mechanical drag, and it is not the one ECU is correcting the position for, it could end up stuck open with the ECU blissfully unaware. If one signal from each throttle is used the ECU still treats one as the master for the control loop and the other as a failsafe but they cannot be assured of being in identical positions because the backup signal has a tolerance from the prime before the ECU responds.
    Last edited by elfturbomax; 06-11-14 at 11:51 PM. Reason: clarity

  21. #111
    GTFO of my ED doctor ed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    irgendwo
    Posts
    4,419
    understood.

    im going to start a new thread to keep this one specifically on topic for dale and the shiny new elite
    Mit freundlichen Grüße

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith Duckworth View Post
    "I think that in a racing engine, the closer it is to disintegrating, in general the better its performance will be "

  22. #112
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,000
    Quote Originally Posted by glenn View Post
    Dale can it do VE on a Rotary? What is the injector staging like?
    FYI Rotary support is tested and working perfect, ill be testing a Elite 1500 with 12 injectors on a 13b in the next few weeks and im 99% sure rotary support will be released with the release of the elite 1500 which will be end of Feb at this stage.

    and yes its VE and seamless staging.
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  23. #113
    Arrogant wankeler Slides's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Inner Westside/Sydney
    Posts
    1,272
    Can you give details on staging logic?

  24. #114
    Registered User glenn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ballarat, Victoria
    Posts
    361
    Quote Originally Posted by 10sec rx7 View Post
    FYI Rotary support is tested and working perfect, ill be testing a Elite 1500 with 12 injectors on a 13b in the next few weeks and im 99% sure rotary support will be released with the release of the elite 1500 which will be end of Feb at this stage.

    and yes its VE and seamless staging.
    Awesome Dale

  25. #115
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,000
    Quote Originally Posted by Slides View Post
    Can you give details on staging logic?
    all will be revealed when its released
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  26. #116
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney ,Australia
    Posts
    811
    Whats the haltech elite 1500 ?

  27. #117
    Registered User JZK25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, Qld.
    Posts
    7,702
    4+4 version of Elite 2500.
    David Fraser - Automotive Historian!

    Quote Originally Posted by bigmuz View Post
    You can't polish a turd but you can put 600hp in it and laugh your fucking arse off coming past someone sideways at Powercruise.

  28. #118
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,000
    yep its the sport 1000 replacment
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  29. #119
    Registered User 260BC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Warwick
    Posts
    15,134
    Drive by wire, how is throttle response compared with mechanical and what circuit car improvements can be piggy backed?
    Richard's DatsunZ lappin LakesidZ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=47OSh...&feature=g-upl

    “Freedom of speech does not protect you from the consequences of saying stupid shit.”
    ― Jim C. Hines

    “Everyone is entitled to his own opinion, but not to his own facts.”
    ― Daniel Patrick Moynihan

    “Four hostile newspapers are more to be feared than a thousand bayonets..”
    ― Napoleon Bonaparte

  30. #120
    Registered User Cameron_Datto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    SE QLD Australia
    Posts
    789
    I require a twin throttle DBW. Can you run a OZMO twin DBW controller with the Elite to make the Twin DBW throttle bodies work ? If can't I guess I will have to buy M400 Motec with a Dwb4. Any ideas ? Has Haltech something in the pipline for twin DBW ?
    Last edited by Cameron_Datto; 30-01-15 at 07:10 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •