Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 31 to 51 of 51

Thread: LS1 or LS2/L98 into 63 Belair

  1. #31
    Registered User Suscunt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Lycralandya
    Posts
    1,239
    DOD delete in with the Cam swap
    Quote Originally Posted by cheapracer View Post
    Sperm are clever little fuckers that got us where we are today. You've never heard of pre-cum by the way?
    Quote Originally Posted by Nugs View Post
    That's why I punch myself in the nuts before sex, get them disorientated.

  2. #32
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    821
    Yep fuck the DOD off - at 140,000 I'd give it a birthday before putting it in anyway

    There's now 2 running 64's on PF with the 6L80E in them... I've only done ~50km in mine so far sorting a couple of teething issues with the new brake setup but no clearance issues with the bigger box at all, definitely put it all in!
    Quote Originally Posted by race6.3l
    Only gripes are the bluetooth and stereo are bread and butter spec, not one person has been able to hear me properly during a call, even with my head all contorted towards the roof mounted microphone like im trying to growl a chic sitting on a clothesline

  3. #33
    Registered User 18htan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    637
    Quote Originally Posted by ITS60S View Post
    Yep fuck the DOD off - at 140,000 I'd give it a birthday before putting it in anyway

    There's now 2 running 64's on PF with the 6L80E in them... I've only done ~50km in mine so far sorting a couple of teething issues with the new brake setup but no clearance issues with the bigger box at all, definitely put it all in!
    Thinking of getting it running and enjoying the thing for a bit before a birthday. Its been almost as long in the making as yours.

    What suggestions for the birthday?

  4. #34
    Registered User 18htan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    637
    So its a L76 and as mentioned, it has the AFM. I am not planning on running with the DOD and cam this time round.

    I know I need a rear sump to clear the cross member and that there are plenty available.

    My issue, a mate told me that the L76 with the AFM runs a different sump and pump due to the AFM.

    Can anyone shed some light on this and what sump would work?

  5. #35
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    6,828
    Lies. Just need to plug oil towers at top and run any valley plate, ls7 lifters
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  6. #36
    Registered User 18htan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    637
    Thanks Mr. Balls.

    But that does not mean much to me. Can you elaborate

  7. #37
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    821
    AFM sump has a oil pressure relief valve for the DOD doesn't it?
    Quote Originally Posted by race6.3l
    Only gripes are the bluetooth and stereo are bread and butter spec, not one person has been able to hear me properly during a call, even with my head all contorted towards the roof mounted microphone like im trying to growl a chic sitting on a clothesline

  8. #38
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    6,828
    L76 doesnt have it activated though. Will have collapsible lifter but rest isnt there. Any rear sump will work
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  9. #39
    Registered User 18htan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    637
    Quote Originally Posted by Dogsballs View Post
    L76 doesnt have it activated though. Will have collapsible lifter but rest isnt there. Any rear sump will work
    How can I be sure that the AFM isn't activated? Fucking AFM badges all over the ute so just assumed it would be running or Holden wouldn't say it was.

  10. #40
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    6,828
    L77 or L98 had it activated.

    You are stressing over very little. Sump is $150, new cam $500, ls7 lifter $200, valve springs $200. Dalecunt remote tune, few hundred kw bulk?smiles
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  11. #41
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    821
    This is the kit you want, sits perfectly over the cross member without hanging too low, just check it works with your mounts

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Chevrolet-Pe...7/252859153171
    Quote Originally Posted by race6.3l
    Only gripes are the bluetooth and stereo are bread and butter spec, not one person has been able to hear me properly during a call, even with my head all contorted towards the roof mounted microphone like im trying to growl a chic sitting on a clothesline

  12. #42
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    17,560
    Quote Originally Posted by 18htan View Post
    How can I be sure that the AFM isn't activated? Fucking AFM badges all over the ute so just assumed it would be running or Holden wouldn't say it was.
    dont fuck around, take it all out... put the same cam as ITS60s and it it has a nice idle with out being over the top etc
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  13. #43
    \/ \/ My motivation \/ \/ ALLMTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Newcastle-ish
    Posts
    22,424
    What cam is that?
    LS2 VS Commodore 12.4 at 115mph

    "Reacher figured if he could put that drivetrain in some battered old sedan body, then that would be his kind of car"

    .

  14. #44
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    405
    Quote Originally Posted by ALLMTR View Post
    What cam is that?
    stage 3

  15. #45
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    6,828
    Oztrack 1/3 racecam

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  16. #46
    Registered User Dean 560 SEC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Perth WA
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by ITS60S View Post
    Yep everyone reckons they know and don't get me wrong next to a 4l60 it's a massive fucking cunt of a thing but the bellhousing is the same size and it all seems to fit except one tab i removed. I also lopped off the threaded end and removed the rubber donut from the back of the box as you can run a normal turbo 400 joint off to save room as the donut would have hit the floor, mocking up the stock tailshaft to the t400 joint it eyeball looks ok, I've got another Belair here with a stock motor and box at the moment so I'm planning to double check, just need my 9" finished to get the tailshaft done and see if I am a winner or loser... either way, you won't need a whole commodore floor, massive overkill
    Hey Mate

    Are you able to give me any info on what you did to replace the donut with the turbo 400 yoke/ uni? Im in the process of putting a L98 and 6L80E in to a 1982 XJ6 Jaguar and would prefer to run 1 piece shaft with unit rather than stuff around with the donut at the back of the box.

    Ive read conflicting commentary on which yoke to use, which length, changing seal, not changing seals...is there a simple solution?
    Last edited by Dean 560 SEC; 14-09-17 at 10:50 PM.
    Current Garage

    1987 Mercedes 560 SEC (Ece)

    2007 BMW E60 530i

    2004 BMW E46 318i

    1982 XJ6 Jaguar 4.2

  17. #47
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    17,560
    He chopped it off with a grinder and slid a t400 yoke in
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  18. #48
    Registered User Dean 560 SEC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Perth WA
    Posts
    28
    If you're removing the end of the output shaft wouldn't it need to be machined so it remains balanced? Surely cutting it off with a grinder could potentially cause driveline vibration?

    Any issues since its been installed? How many K's has it been driven?
    Current Garage

    1987 Mercedes 560 SEC (Ece)

    2007 BMW E60 530i

    2004 BMW E46 318i

    1982 XJ6 Jaguar 4.2

  19. #49
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    17,560
    How is a 1in shaft going to go out of balance cutting a piece off the end of it?
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  20. #50
    Registered User Dean 560 SEC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Perth WA
    Posts
    28
    The output shaft is a lot longer than an inch - even the end section that would need to be removed is longer than that. As for how could cutting this off with a grinder cause the end of the shaft to be out of balance...I'll leave this alone.

    Problem solved - Ive ordered a Sonnax 3 bolt adapter flange yoke from Jegs in the US which will arrive late next week. $240 including express shipping from the US is a better option than stuffing around cutting output shafts and sourcing a correct length TH400 yoke.
    Last edited by Dean 560 SEC; 16-09-17 at 06:43 PM.
    Current Garage

    1987 Mercedes 560 SEC (Ece)

    2007 BMW E60 530i

    2004 BMW E46 318i

    1982 XJ6 Jaguar 4.2

  21. #51
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    17,560
    Do you really think cutting the end is going to put it out of balance? Lol... the shaft is 1in in dia not 1in long, removing the end of it is not gong to change the balance of it..

    It's pretty hard to get a t400 yoke that's right.
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •