Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: cheap not completely shit OBD2 readers, OBDII readers and toyota??

  1. #1
    Unregistered User Permit Roadsailing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    5,486

    cheap not completely shit OBD2 readers, OBDII readers and toyota??

    background: just bought a 2005 corolla (#humblepovertybrag) check engine light comes on and stays on occasionally, internet says it could be a few things.

    I bought a cheap as fuck chinese bluetooth OBD2 reader aw hile ago, has worked fine with a few cars when my phone plays nice, but it only seems to be half working with my corolla, it will report battery voltage but says there are no DTCs and won't report VIN or serial numbers or anything.

    my understanding of OBD2 is it should work the same for all cars that support it, so not sure what is going on. I asked the mechanic to read the codes and record them while it was in for a RWC, "yeah mate I cleared the codes and the check engine light came back on again" thanks mate.

    I have been thinking of buying a wired/standalone reader like https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free...999.264.BrDfcE which doesn't need a phone and should work a bit quicker, wondering if I will have any more luck with it.

    Any good cheap OBDII readers people have used? any shit ones?

  2. #2
    Founder Nick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New New Zealand
    Posts
    4,336
    I had issues with my IS300 and even expensive ODB2 reader link the ODB2Link I got. Didn't work, wouldn't connect to the ECU. The yanks didn't have an issue. Found out that the Australian IS300 uses a Japanese ECU so isn't fully ODB2 compliant.

    Long story short, used the following AT commands to get it working.

    ATIB 96 \n ATIIA 13 \n ATSH8213F0 \n ATSP4 \n 0100

    Give it a go, see if it is the same on the Corolla ecu.
    '06 Subaru Liberty Wagon 3.0R-B
    '03 Lexus IS300 2JZGTE

  3. #3
    Founder Nick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    New New Zealand
    Posts
    4,336
    PS, Toyota also use a "TechStream" cable, you can get these cheap off Fleabay too. Can do a few more things like reprogramming key fobs etc.
    '06 Subaru Liberty Wagon 3.0R-B
    '03 Lexus IS300 2JZGTE

  4. #4
    Unregistered User Permit Roadsailing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    5,486
    Quote Originally Posted by Nick View Post

    Long story short, used the following AT commands to get it working.

    ATIB 96 \n ATIIA 13 \n ATSH8213F0 \n ATSP4 \n 0100
    i don't know what that means. think i'm going to buy the standalone scanner anyway and add it to my collection of cheap but usefull tools that may never get used, i;m hoping that because it is mass produced Chinese junk that it will just work with everything.

    mine was build in south africa so maybe it isn't OBD2 compliant for..... different reasons.

  5. #5
    Registered User Asteroid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Lapping freo.
    Posts
    3,482
    Sounds about right. 2006 is when obd2 became mandatory, older Toyota's don't. Which is odd as Toyota USA had the very same cars and engines with obd2 since the 90s!

  6. #6
    Unregistered User Permit Roadsailing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    5,486
    Quote Originally Posted by Nick View Post
    PS, Toyota also use a "TechStream" cable, you can get these cheap off Fleabay too. Can do a few more things like reprogramming key fobs etc.
    cheers

    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/16-Pin-Mi...8AAOSw4GVYGu6y

    $20 overnight from Hong Kong with software, sounds good.

  7. #7
    Unregistered User Permit Roadsailing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    5,486
    ok stupid question on the techstream:

    do I want: IM, GA, GU, JK, P5, BU or are these letters meaningless?

  8. #8
    Supraholic
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    113
    In the TorquePro app on Android you need to add that string for it to read, had to the same thing for the Supra to use the ELM427 OBD2 reader off eBay. Works quite well IMO.

  9. #9
    THE CISCO KID ROBAPHENT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, Aust
    Posts
    425
    I wonder if that cable will work with this.

    http://www.microsofttranslator.com/b...%2Fmyengine%2F


    Russian program, built around JZ engines that has the ability to read knock and so on.
    CISCOKIDS
    The Gentlemen's Club
    Midnight Rocker

  10. #10
    Unregistered User Permit Roadsailing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    5,486
    cheers for all the suggestions, was about to pay for torquepro and hope there was a spot to type gibberish into it but figured there must be a bunch of "camry owners" who are IT literate and aren't afraid to save a dollar so just searched play store for "toyota OBD2" and downloaded a free app called "ELMScan Toyota" after a tiny bit of bluetooth nonsense it connected, and had one DTC: P1035 - Heated oxygen sensor (HO2S) 1, bank 1, heater control circuit malfunction

    guessing the most likely cause of this is the O2 sensor is fucked, might look at where it is, how much they are and replace it one day, but it's a failure I'm not too worried about. might explain why some of the old sparkplugs were quite sooty??
    Last edited by Roadsailing; 09-02-17 at 08:41 PM.

  11. #11
    Emissions Friendly VW Sloth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Das Valley
    Posts
    2,948
    change plugs and clean the maf.
    Sloth: [Sloff] Noun, like Skompa but with euro shitboxen, a large bearded person, with a penchant for cider and garlic pizza.

    Quote Originally Posted by Rdyno View Post
    That's retardism cunt stop discriminating against me and my fellow retards.

  12. #12
    Unregistered User Permit Roadsailing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    5,486
    Quote Originally Posted by Sloth View Post
    change plugs and clean the maf.
    did oil, plugs and air filter just after I bought it. might do the MAF, have needed to buy a can of electrical shit cleaner for a while (fuck, MAF cleaner is 27 bucks a can? hmmm.)

    super non genuine oxy sensor is ~50 bucks, and looks pretty easy to work out if the sensor or the heating circuit is stuffed.
    Last edited by Roadsailing; 09-02-17 at 09:19 PM.

  13. #13
    Emissions Friendly VW Sloth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Das Valley
    Posts
    2,948
    toyotas have a habit of throwing o2 sensor codes when the fault is upstream. though at 50 bux, it would be rude not to i guess.
    Sloth: [Sloff] Noun, like Skompa but with euro shitboxen, a large bearded person, with a penchant for cider and garlic pizza.

    Quote Originally Posted by Rdyno View Post
    That's retardism cunt stop discriminating against me and my fellow retards.

  14. #14
    Unregistered User Permit Roadsailing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    5,486
    Quote Originally Posted by Sloth View Post
    toyotas have a habit of throwing o2 sensor codes when the fault is upstream. though at 50 bux, it would be rude not to i guess.
    ah got ya now, will have a look at the hotwire if testing the O2 sensor and circuit doesn't show any problems.

  15. #15
    Hungry Hungry Hippo Tripper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    gong
    Posts
    14,004
    Quote Originally Posted by Roadsailing View Post
    fuck, MAF cleaner is 27 bucks a can
    Just use contact cleaner. Will be dirt cheap at jaycar.

  16. #16
    bitch lasagne Bob Vegana.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    United Nanny States of Australia
    Posts
    5,050
    Quote Originally Posted by Sloth View Post
    toyotas have a habit of throwing o2 sensor codes when the fault is upstream. though at 50 bux, it would be rude not to i guess.
    If it's throwing heater circuit codes though, the chances are it's fucked.

    If it's throwing range errors, then yeah maybe look at vacuum leaks, etc.

    Late '90s/early '00s VWs are the same.
    Quote Originally Posted by brewdles View Post
    In short, some cunt at test and tune had a 250cc honda turning to 11ty and it sounded porn. Do that.

  17. #17
    Unregistered User Permit Roadsailing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    5,486
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Flibberty Gibbets View Post
    If it's throwing heater circuit codes though, the chances are it's fucked.

    If it's throwing range errors, then yeah maybe look at vacuum leaks, etc.

    Late '90s/early '00s VWs are the same.
    the heater circuit or sensor? I had a poke around to see how hard it would be to get a multimeter somewhere to work out which is fucked, but it's in enough of a prick of a spot that I think i'll just throw in a new $40 ebay sensor and hope that fixes it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •