Thread: GT42 big enough?

GT42 big enough?

Hi there, I'm new to the turbo world and was after a little advice. After reading about a standard LS2 with a Chinese GT42 going 150+ mph down the quarter I went and bought myself one GT4294 along with an Aeromotive rising rate regulator.. My question now is would this be suitable for a currently 590hp NA 406chev looking to add approx 150hp. My plans are to gather the extra necessary parts bov, wastegate, carby mods etc over the next 12 months. Any assistance is greatly appreciated and please excuse my lack of knowledge in this subject.

There are plenty of people here who can help, but be prepared to cop a bit of a belting as most people here like to take the piss.

So the first question is - how much do you think this will cost? I think it is worth back-tracking and planning this out. If you have spent $500 on an ebay turbo you only have about $19,500 to go. In the grand scheme of things you should look at buying a quality turbo as at 90hp/litre from 6.5+ litres you're obviously accustomed to good gear & aware what it costs.

It has been done many times with a carb, some of those have been successful, but generally they are not so you'd want to add EFI to your 'to do' list.

I'd also speak to your engine builder and see if the engine will suit boost as if your current one is built to 90hp/litre already you'll likely need to reconsider the whole thing - maybe sell yours as a package (depending on value) and start again with a boost-specific engine build as you'll probably be throwing most of it in the bin. I have little-to-no engine-specific experience with V8s but it would be fair to say you'd be almost certainly be looking at new aftermarket block, crank rods and pistons as a starting point as well as a totally revised cylinder head & camming.