Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hyundai Excel - Not a sports sedan

Hyundai Excel - Not a sports sedan

Its more of a sport hatch really

So bit of a back story here, in 2015 one of my best mates passed away (RIP Ryan), he was right into the excels as his dad ran a sizable team that had achieved some seriously good results at state and national level. I had been talking about going out for a steer for ages before 2015 but never really got around to it.

When Ryan passed it gave me a bit of motivation to get involved in something he really had a ball doing so I teed up some seat time in a buzzbox on a day where I was testing the evo

To be brutally honest, it was doing laps in a hyundai excel, basically going through the motions...I thought id give it another crack on an actual race weekend and see how I go, I had most of the gear needed to go door to door already so the cost wasnt too extravagant, I upgraded my CAMS license and then had a go at round 4 of the state championships

It was one of the best decisions id ever made, practise vs race day...incomparable and it was an absolute blast, right there I was fucking hooked, I actually put the evo up for sale about 2 weeks after knowing that I wouldn't ever want to race again a stop watch again.

Even managed to have my first crash stack into someone else during race 2

Didnt take any before shots but it wasnt that bad that we couldnt fix it in half an hour trackside!

The damage was mostly cosmetic so over the christmas break we sorted out some new used panels and lights for ol bessie and had it ready for a new wrap...some liberal use of a hammer may have taken place

I knew I was going to miss round one due to a holiday so I lent the car to another PRT team member to borrow while his new car was being built, unfortunately the 223,000km motor finally gave up the ghost, so a new $250 wrecker motor was slotted in its place for me to drive at round 2