Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Modifying CAS disc

  1. #1
    Registered User FJ510's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Over crowded Sydney
    Posts
    54

    Modifying CAS disc

    gday blokes.

    could someone help me out with how to modify my cas disc for sequential

    needs only one slot? or is the disc ready to go?

    when re installing the single slot disc, where is the single slot positioned in relation to TDC?

    Cheers
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20170812_085347.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	4.89 MB 
ID:	101113  

  2. #2
    Arrogant wankeler Slides's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Inner Westside/Sydney
    Posts
    1,047
    Guessing optical cam sensor on a nissan motor?

    Assuming it runs at cam speed then it already has the single reset slot on the larger radius.

    If it runs at crank speed you will have to setup a separate trigger with a single target on a cam/cam wheel for the 720 degree reset.

  3. #3
    Opens
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    8,881
    Autronic?

  4. #4
    Registered User FJ510's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Over crowded Sydney
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by tim510 View Post
    Autronic?
    Elite 1500. Yes running at cam speed, yes Nissan motor. FJ

    Does this outer slot need to be timed to crank trigger?

  5. #5
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    17,518
    yes that will work as it is IF the pickup actually works.. had a few FJ's where the pickups are fucked and no longer work..
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  6. #6
    Opens
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    8,881
    get a stock dizzy, swap the sensor for a new one and youre done

  7. #7
    TJzone TJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    23,720
    Thought modifying cas disks were a thing of the past and wolf 3'ds
    #teamtremolo
    Quote Originally Posted by brasher
    TJ is 99% African American.

  8. #8
    Registered User FJ510's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Over crowded Sydney
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by tim510 View Post
    get a stock dizzy, swap the sensor for a new one and youre done
    if you can find a stock FJ dizzy, let me know.

  9. #9
    Registered User FJ510's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Over crowded Sydney
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by 10sec rx7 View Post
    yes that will work as it is IF the pickup actually works.. had a few FJ's where the pickups are fucked and no longer work..
    pulled the dizzy out, found one deutsch pin loose.

    do trigger offsets generally fall within the same numbers in 4, 6, 8 cyl? what number to start with a 4?

  10. #10
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    17,518
    Your tigger offset will
    Be close to what it is or 360 different from what it is,
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  11. #11
    Registered User FJ510's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Over crowded Sydney
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by TJ View Post
    Thought modifying cas disks were a thing of the past and wolf 3'ds
    apparently not if wanting to setup sequential injection and direct fire

  12. #12
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    17,518
    You can do it off a stock fj20 one.. if it works correctly.. the last 10 or so fj's I've seen have had major issues with the cas
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  13. #13
    Opens
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    8,881
    Quote Originally Posted by 10sec rx7 View Post
    You can do it off a stock fj20 one.. if it works correctly.. the last 10 or so fj's I've seen have had major issues with the cas
    Usually a dud sensor or wiring. The sensors are readily available.
    I'm working on a 24+1 drop in substitute.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    399
    most ECU's should be capable of running the stock disc.

    Autronic I don't think did, nor Wolf. Not sure on Haltech.

    I have a dizzy with a 4 and 1 disc that I don't want if you want the disc, as I will be putting the stock disc back in when I use that one.

  15. #15
    Purist, whats that? Jason Broadhurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    North Brisbane
    Posts
    6,092
    EMS didn't either FYI.
    Jason Broadhurst

    Someone once asked me if they could use my mower. I said "sure, so long as it doesn't leave my yard"

  16. #16
    Registered User LB-XP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    327
    Not sure if acurate but after hearing Dale has seen 10 dud ones its likely! Saw this once and saved the screen shot to show differences.

    Ps, credit to OP, i cant remember where i found this

    Last edited by LB-XP; 16-08-17 at 09:20 PM.

  17. #17
    Registered User LB-XP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    327
    Think this SR CAS conversion might be the go?

    I have an FJ also but would like to find out more if the FJ CAS signal is really that bad even when working well.

    Last edited by LB-XP; 16-08-17 at 09:22 PM.

  18. #18
    Registered User FJ510's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Over crowded Sydney
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by tim510 View Post
    Usually a dud sensor or wiring. The sensors are readily available.
    I'm working on a 24+1 drop in substitute.
    thoughts with installing a new FJ sensor, comparing to graph above?

  19. #19
    Purist, whats that? Jason Broadhurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    North Brisbane
    Posts
    6,092
    That above graph is bullshit. Two working CAS's because they have different teeth count can not cause that.

    They compared a broken CAS to a working CAS, that is all.

    The FJ20 optical, when working is all an engine needs for CAS.
    Jason Broadhurst

    Someone once asked me if they could use my mower. I said "sure, so long as it doesn't leave my yard"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •