Results 1 to 26 of 26

Thread: Haltech experts

  1. #1
    Registered User RNS-11Z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    3,806

    Haltech experts

    I'm looking for something that does some serious data logging. I don't really need the display function but what I need to log is egt (individual exhaust), boost, air fuel, ect etc. egt being the most important. I understand il need to run a 2nd ecu to do log egt. What's the cheapest haltech ecu I could use or is there another solution??

    Thanks h

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    586
    From my research, it depends on your required logging frequency. The more you spend, the higher the logging frequency. I thought the Elite 1500 looks like good bang for buck for non circuit racing applications.

    But.... you should get some feedback from 10secrx7 on here, he knows a bit about them. He also knows a bit about carbies if you ever want to go old school.

  3. #3
    TJzone TJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    25,187
    H, surely speak to Dale
    #teamtremolo
    Quote Originally Posted by brasher
    TJ is 99% African American.
    Quote Originally Posted by Fatboy View Post
    And i'd still fuck Betty....

  4. #4
    Registered User RNS-11Z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    3,806
    I was hoping he would see this. I didn't want to inbox him on fb and harass him.

  5. #5
    Registered User GSRman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Caught in the ACT
    Posts
    17,236
    I assume one of those race expansion modules has super dupe extra logging channels - i assume it would be channels that you would run out of.. but i think they also do a module specifically for the job - v8 EGT's,,,


    But if you are seriously looking to buy something - im sure dale wouldn't be upset.. hit him up on the tunedbydale page.
    This is a post i wrote by mistake, which is nice...

    PF GT5 whore car list https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?...thkey=CPKNmOIJ

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Wrong.
    Posts
    7,091
    Emtron KV8 and Racegrade TC8 or (pending pricing) Emtron TC8. Log at 500hz x everything. Winning ECU.

    Also another easy solution is logging it to a dash if it's something you want to just transfer around car to car, something with a few inputs and also a CAN based thermocouple. I'd suggest a Plex SDM500 and racegrade TC8 or Motec E888. Set up dash for existing ecu CAN stream too.
    Last edited by cracka; 16-11-17 at 11:47 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bosshoggett View Post
    If your planing to drive this on the road and enjoy it, id suggest a second opinion, someone with a history in Australian Rally or Fink River . If your just playing dyno comps. Then ok

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Wrong.
    Posts
    7,091
    Could also borrow my SDM-300 and just view EGT's in real time with 30sec trace graphs x8 on screen. Not sure which car this is for.
    Last edited by cracka; 16-11-17 at 11:46 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bosshoggett View Post
    If your planing to drive this on the road and enjoy it, id suggest a second opinion, someone with a history in Australian Rally or Fink River . If your just playing dyno comps. Then ok

  8. #8
    Purist, whats that? Jason Broadhurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    North Brisbane
    Posts
    6,499
    A Haltech can log all of that really nicely, except maybe individual EGT?

    External dataloggers exist but you have to wire, program and calibrate every single sensor and they are mostly analogue not serial signals.

    Is it going to do the fuel and injection too, or just a datalogger?
    Jason Broadhurst

    Someone once asked me if they could use my mower. I said "sure, so long as it doesn't leave my yard"

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Singleton, Aus
    Posts
    215
    I log indvidual EGT (8) on my racecar with the haltech elite.

  10. #10
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,001
    egts are no problem, should be able to use a racegrade TC8 or PCS egt8 shortly too.

    ignore the 500hz comments as you wont be logging any can devices at 500hz...
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  11. #11
    \_(ツ)_/ burn is weird's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    gold coast
    Posts
    1,764
    if you're after a cheaper (albeit slower sample rate) egt solution one of these works great. for the price, it probably only has a single sampling chip that is multiplexed rather than 8 dedicated channels.

    http://rrrshop.co.uk/8egt2can---8-th...dule-403-p.asp

    they're 91GBP, 8 channel EGT, but you'll need an ECU that will let you specify CAN frames.

    but apparently the E888 is capable of sampling at 500hz which is much fast than this one will be. but an egt probe is 250ms response at best on an open tip probe, so I wouldn't be too worried.
    Last edited by burn is weird; 20-11-17 at 08:43 AM.

    Oo___oO


  12. #12
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,001
    it may sample at 500hz but it will not log that quick.. more like 20hz across a can bus..
    Last edited by 10sec rx7; 20-11-17 at 09:09 AM.
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    465
    why will it only log at 20hz Dale?

  14. #14
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,001
    i should have been clearer, the egt probe it self is slow at responding, logging at more than 20hz is useless as your logging the same data over and over again..
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    465
    Yes, that is correct, I was going to say that exactly.

    It is the speed of the senor response that makes logging greater than about 20hz useless.
    A CAN bus can go much faster than that, we log some items at 5000hz over CAN where required...

  16. #16
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,001
    working out how fast you can log shit on a 1mbit/s can bus is way above my head..
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  17. #17
    Opens
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    9,337
    So Haltech can't do something that isn't possible. What a piece of shit.

  18. #18
    \_(ツ)_/ burn is weird's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    gold coast
    Posts
    1,764
    about the only thing you'd be interested in logging @500hz would be suspension travel.

    Oo___oO


  19. #19
    Registered User RNS-11Z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    3,806
    Sorry guys I should of mentioned its for the c63.

    Jason strictly logging. we will be tuning the factory ecu.

    Thanks for replies too.

  20. #20
    sack riding 10sec rx7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    18,001
    Quote Originally Posted by RNS-11Z View Post
    Sorry guys I should of mentioned its for the c63.

    Jason strictly logging. we will be tuning the factory ecu.

    Thanks for replies too.
    hit me up on facebook and ill sort you out
    im a cunt
    and apparently i dont know shit...

  21. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    465
    Quote Originally Posted by burn is weird View Post
    about the only thing you'd be interested in logging @500hz would be suspension travel.
    yes, mostly it is damper position, damper force, especially when used as a logger on the 7 post rigs and alike.

  22. #22
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    465
    I am not sure why you would use an ECU for logging, but just as an example of another option, you could use a CDL3 @ $2167 inc and it has this spec:
    Basic specifications
    Communications

    2 x Configurable CAN or RS232 bus with individually programmable CAN bus speeds
    1 x Dedicated RS232

    Physical

    Dimensions 180 x 91 x 18 mm excluding connector
    Weight 385 g
    1 x 34 pin AMP connector

    Inputs

    Provision for 4 x analogue voltage high resolution inputs
    Provision for 2 x analogue temperature inputs
    2 x Digital inputs
    3 x Speed inputs with voltage measuring capability
    Compatible with E888 expander (8 Thermocouples only)

    Outputs

    4 x PWM, switched or digital outputs

    Logging

    8 MB logging memory
    Logging rates up to 500 samples per second
    Fast Ethernet download

    Internal Sensors

    3-axis G sensor
    Dash temperature sensor
    Sensor supply voltage
    Battery voltage


    no problems either way, worth knowing your options.

  23. #23
    Registered User RNS-11Z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    3,806
    Had some PM's so I thought it's best I update the thread. Dale helped us out and now I'm hooked up with a Haltech Elite 750 + haltech dash. I went this route as a) dale hooked us up with a mad price b) apart from the logging there are several features to control which will come in extremely handy.

  24. #24
    cunt
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,492
    Quote Originally Posted by 10sec rx7 View Post
    working out how fast you can log shit on a 1mbit/s can bus is way above my head..
    1000000Hz
    1 bit/second = 1 hertz
    Quote Originally Posted by BeverlyHillsCop View Post
    I think u should marry her... slip the ring inside your ass and next time she goes in, she'll come out with a ring on her finger...

  25. #25
    Registered User GSRman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Caught in the ACT
    Posts
    17,236
    Quote Originally Posted by XFJET View Post
    1000000Hz
    1 bit/second = 1 hertz
    that hertz my brain.
    This is a post i wrote by mistake, which is nice...

    PF GT5 whore car list https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?...thkey=CPKNmOIJ

  26. #26
    Problem? sssgtr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    on a boat motherfucker
    Posts
    4,212
    Just be aware that Racegrade TC8 is not end user programmable without a PCAN adaptor. I had Motec USA configure mine for me at no additional charge, that is if you don't want or need it to run in E888 mode.

    As for a datalogger, have a look at Racecapture Pro MK3 range.
    Last edited by sssgtr; 20-12-17 at 08:34 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •