Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Proflow 4" air filters

  1. #1
    Problem? sssgtr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    on a boat motherfucker
    Posts
    4,160

    Proflow 4" air filters

    Gents, anyone have any feedback on these filters?
    www.vpw.com.au/category/index/23995

    For a turbo circuit car.

    Stay away or ok?

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    483
    Got one of those, also for circuit. Have not run it yet.

    Used to run oiled foam on a turbo circuit car, and would wash a teaspoon of sand/grit out of it after every dry meeting. So you definitely want a filter. My understanding of these Proflow steel filters is they are cleanable and low resistance, but don't filter as fine particles as paper or oiled foam.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Campbelltown, Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    622
    vpw rep chiming in, shoot me a pm

  4. #4
    Problem? sssgtr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    on a boat motherfucker
    Posts
    4,160
    Done mate.

    Just a little concerned about smaller particles getting through and grit blasting the compressor wheel, like if the car in front drops a wheel off and shoots a dust cloud your way.

    Stupid and paranoid yes, but I deal with gas turbine engines on a daily basis that suffer from regular FOD to compressors even with dual stage filtering (cyclonic and paper based).

  5. #5
    Registered User ls400x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    2,136
    Name:  particle size.png
Views: 181
Size:  47.2 KB

    The Proflow filter has a 200 micron mesh size...hmm

  6. #6
    BLING BLING PLAYA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    adelaide
    Posts
    6,066
    There is a reason OEM don't use this.
    3D scanning
    3D modelling
    Structural certification
    3 and 5 axis milling

  7. #7
    Unregistered User Permit Roadsailing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    5,961
    Quote Originally Posted by PLAYA View Post
    There is a reason OEM don't use this.
    Yeah, because they are in bed with big filter.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    483
    Quote Originally Posted by ls400x View Post
    Name:  particle size.png
Views: 181
Size:  47.2 KB

    The Proflow filter has a 200 micron mesh size...hmm
    Interesting... so it's more like an old school stone screen.

  9. #9
    Problem? sssgtr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    on a boat motherfucker
    Posts
    4,160
    I think they're technically a "flame arrestor", the Riva Racing filter I have in the waverunner is exactly like these.

  10. #10
    Registered User dnegative's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,054
    Wouldn't run one of these if you wanted to replace an air filter, good for drag racing but yeah, 200 micron is huge.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •