Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: AN6 vs AN8 vs AN10

  1. #1
    Dreamer millsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Logan Bogan
    Posts
    3,133

    Exclamation AN6 vs AN8 vs AN10

    There's a new Lolly shop opening soon and I need to get the Bedford there first!
    Changing from single in tank pump to twin in tank pumps because reasons.
    Currently has one an6 line that splits into two an6 for dual feed rail.
    I will run 2 an6 lines and probably two filters with the new pumps but will join them post filter before splitting off into the an6 feeds to the rail.
    Should I go 2 x an6 into an10 or will an8 suffice?
    Also thinking of maybe going up ftom an6 to an8 on the return but the fitting at the tank bulkhead is already an6 so think that may be a waste of time.
    Pumps will be 2 x dw400s
    Last edited by millsi; 28-07-19 at 02:27 PM.
    Nope

  2. #2
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    8,239
    Keep the return small to keep pressure in rail.

    I run twin 460s in my surge to twin 6an (one has flex fuel sensor) to 8an with fuel filter, single entry 8an on rail, 6an return to surge.

    I have single 6an feed from fuel tank and return

    Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  3. #3
    Opens ALLMTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Newcastlish
    Posts
    24,131
    Im running two -6s into a -8. Two -6s (by area) are very similar to one -8

    Are you staging the pumps?
    Last edited by ALLMTR; 28-07-19 at 06:53 PM.
    I own a two and a half litre Commodore

  4. #4
    Registered User dnegative's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,415
    The return line should be able to handle 100% of the fuel flow without creating crazy pump head pressures, modern electric pumps are not positive displacement but you dont want some tiny return hose.
    Single -8 feed and return will be plenty.
    Quote Originally Posted by cracka View Post
    Fuck I'm retarded

  5. #5
    Dreamer millsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Logan Bogan
    Posts
    3,133
    Thanks guys.
    Not staging the pumps at this stage.
    Nope

  6. #6
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    8,239
    Quote Originally Posted by dnegative View Post
    The return line should be able to handle 100% of the fuel flow without creating crazy pump head pressures, modern electric pumps are not positive displacement but you dont want some tiny return hose.
    Single -8 feed and return will be plenty.
    Not many 8an full flow efi regs though without spending bulk coin. So there is always a restriction, even to get it to 58psi

    Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  7. #7
    Opens ALLMTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Newcastlish
    Posts
    24,131
    Yeah I reckon -6 return is fine

    Im running the second pump only at the track to make it easier on the electrical system....until I forget to switch it on and lunch a motor
    I own a two and a half litre Commodore

  8. #8
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    8,239
    Hobbs switch or hallaltech can switch it on at say 5psi boost. Or just run it all the time off two relays
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  9. #9
    Dreamer millsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Logan Bogan
    Posts
    3,133
    Quote Originally Posted by Dogsballs View Post
    Hobbs switch or hallaltech can switch it on at say 5psi boost. Or just run it all the time off two relays
    2 relays are already wired up ready to go.
    Might stuff around later with staged but more to go wrong.
    Nope

  10. #10
    are hairy Dogsballs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    8,239
    Quote Originally Posted by millsi View Post
    2 relays are already wired up ready to go.
    Might stuff around later with staged but more to go wrong.
    Correct, why I run mine all the time

    Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk
    Quote Originally Posted by 50RTD View Post
    Dave, have you uploaded the data from the carby?

  11. #11
    \_(ツ)_/ burn is weird's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    gold coast
    Posts
    2,009
    dual DW400s? I look forward to seeing this 1000whp van.
    Last edited by burn is weird; 29-07-19 at 03:17 PM.

    Oo___oO


  12. #12
    Dreamer millsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Logan Bogan
    Posts
    3,133
    Already got one so makes sense to use two of the same
    Nope

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •